The ASUPS Senate is the legislative body that establishes and reviews all policies, affairs, and activities of ASUPS. It is in charge of finalizing the use of your ASUPS funds.In addition, the ASUPS Senate confirms all appointments made by the Executive branch as well as recognizes student clubs as official ASUPS clubs. Finally, the Senate has the ultimate power to amend the ASUPS budget, Constitution and By-laws.

Who are the senators

Katie Handick

Chair & Senator at Large

Media Board

Cafe hours:

Monday/Friday, 12-1pm (Opp)


Zane Molgaard

Senior Senator

Senior Gift

Cafe hours:

Not yet scheduled


Jordan Taylor

Sophomore Senator

No committee

Cafe hours:

Not yet scheduled


Morey Lipsett

On-Campus House Senator


Cafe hours:

Not yet scheduled


Sarah Walling-Bell

Senator at Large

Cafe hours:

Tuesday 10-11 (Oppenheimer) & Wednesday, 12-1 (Diversions)


Matthew Parone

Senator at Large

Student Concerns, Union Board

Cafe hours:

Monday 1-2pm (Diversions), Friday 2pm-3pm (Diversions)


Nic Rothbacher

Off Campus House Senator

Student Concerns Committee

Cafe hours:

Tuesday 10-11am, Friday 11am-12pm


Kristin Goodell

Greek House Senator


Cafe hours:

Tuesday 9:45am-10:45 (Opp), Thursday 3:45-4:45 (Div)


Elena Staver

Senator at Large

Food, Health, and Safety

Cafe hours:

Tuesday 1-2 pm (Diversions) & Friday, 1-2pm (Oppenheimer)


Jack Aldisert

Junior Senator

Food, Health, and Safety

Cafe hours:

Friday 11:00am-1:00pm (Diversions)


Chloe Simon

Senate Secretary


Dr. Gerard Morris

Faculty Representative


Asst. Dean Sarah Comstock

Dean of Students Representative


Sarah Johnson

Staff Senate Representative


There are twelve senator positions. Freshman Senator, Sophomore Senator, Junior Senator, Senior Senator, Greek Senator, Residence Hall Senator, Off-Campus Senator, Residence House Senator, and four Senators at Large. Senators are elected in either October or March, depending on the position, and will complete a senate project(s) during their term. Each term will last an entire year, with the exception of the Freshman Senator which will last half a year and the Senior Senator which will last a year and a half.

Senate meets every Tuesday and Thursday at 7 pm in the Murray Boardroom. All are welcome and encouraged to attend!


Food, Health, and Safety: 

Serves as a forum for discussing views and concerns of the student body that are pertinent to Dining and Conference Services,  Security Services and the Center for Health and Wellness Services. The committee forwards concerns put forth by the student body and proposes objectives to best serve the Puget Sound community. Come if you want snacks!

Members: Todd Badham (Director of Security), Donn Marshall (Director of CHWS and Associate Dean of Students), Terry Halvorson (Director of Dining Services), Brian Sullivan (Executive Chef), Phillip Wells (Assistant Director of Catering and Cafes), Bridget Alexander (Student at Large), Maloy Moore (Student at Large), Emily Hearst (Student at Large), Jack Aldisert (Senator), Juan-Carlos Ortega Esquinca (ASUPS Director of Marketing and Outreach), Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President), Julia Lin (ASUPS Director of Student Interests).

Meets every other Tuesdays from 4-5 PM, beginning February 14 in Upper Marshall Hall.

Finance Committee: 

Is in charge of reviewing all finance requests submitted by students, faculty and staff to seek financial assistance for programming and events. 

Members: Sam Inouye (Student at Large), Morey Lipsett (Senator), Doug Palmer (ASUPS Director of Business Services, non-voting), Kate Segar (Student at Large), Nick Gerard (Student at Large), Amanda Díaz (ASUPS President, non-voting), Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President, Chair)

Finance committee meets once a week, every Monday at 9 pm.

Union Board: 

Regulates the operations and functions of all entities, departments and organizations housed in the Student Union Building. Union Board meets once a month.

Members:  Colin Noble (Student at Large), Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President), Barbara Racince (Bookstore Director), Bob Kief (​Associate​ Vice President for Facilities), John Hickey (Executive Director of Community Engagement & Associate Vice President for Business Services), Sarah Comstock (Sarah Associate Dean of Students Director of Student Union & Programs​), Serni Solidarios (Director of Student Programs), Terry Halvorson (Director of Dining Services).

Meets Tuesdays at 9 PM: Feb 23, Mar 9, Mar 23, April 6, April 20.

Media Board:

Members: Katie Handick (Senator, Chair), Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President), Marta Cady (Dean of Students), Grame Bainbridge (KUPS General Manager), Madyson Frank (Wetlands Editor-in-Chief), Talena Graham (Crosscurrents Editor-in-Chief), Casey O'Brien (The Trail Editor-in-Chief), Tina Chapman (Elements Editor-in-Chief), Gabe Newman (Photo Services General Manager)

Meets Thursdays at 6 PM

Awards and Scholarship: 

Meets during the Spring semester and is responsible for gathering nominations and selecting recipients for various ASUPS and other awards and scholarships. They will award these outstanding participatory students, faculty and staff, according to the selection processes of each scholarship or award. Awards are given each Spring at the University Leadership Awards Ceremony.

Members: Nic Rothbacher (Senator), Ashley Latham (Student at Large), Mary Aquiningoc (Student at Large), Kieran Allison (Student at Large), Amanda Díaz (ASUPS President)

Student Concerns: 

Is responsible for evaluating the needs, problems and concerns of the campus. It serves to do outreach to collect student concerns, advise senators working on senate projects, and generate new projects for the Director of Student Interest or senators to work on. Student Concerns meets once a week.

Members: Ashley Latham (Student at Large), Kieran Allison (Student at Large), Franz Mangonon (Student at Large), Ivin Yu (Student at Large), Meylin Serrano (Student at Large), Amanda Díaz (ASUPS President, non-voting)

Meets every other Thursday from 5-6 PM, starting February 23rd.

Governance Committee: 

Serves as a first level evaluator of ASUPS documents and policy and procedure, while ensuring consistency, accuracy and legality. Governance Committee also meets to evaluate and review the ASUPS Constitution, By-Laws and any other ancillary documents and present recommendations to Senate. Governance Committee meets as determined by the Chair.

Members: Doug Palmer (Student at Large), Nick Gerard (Student at Large), Mauricio Mendez (Student at Large), Amanda Díaz (ASUPS President, non-voting), Morey Lipsett (Senator), Jack Aldisert (Senator)

Meets at 5-6 PM on Wednesday.

Election Committee: 

Organizes and coordinates all ASUPS elections in accordance with the Constitution, By-Laws and Senate. They enforce campaign guidelines and regulations to ensure fair and just elections. Election Committee meets as determined by the Chair.

Members: Nick Gerard (Student at Large), Lily Hoak (Student at Large), Lia Chin-Purcell (Student at Large), Qiara Millen (Student at Large), Katie Handick (Senator), Jordan Taylor (Senator), Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President, non-voting)

Meets when needed

Budget Committee: 

Is responsible for evaluating budget requests of all ASUPS Clubs, Medias and Programmers, and balancing the budget in a fair and equitable manner. Budget Committee meets in April of every year before presenting the final budget to the ASUPS Senate.

Members: Jenna Mobley (ASUPS Vice President, Chair), Sarah Walling-Bell (Senator), Jordan Taylor (Senator), Amanda Díaz (ASUPS President, non-voting), Doug Palmer (ASUPS Director of Business Services, non-voting).

Meets when needed